IFAF Europe Competition Committee has set the European Championship 2016 Qualifying Tournaments system. National Teams are divided in 2 groups, with 2 scheduled matches – semifinal and placement games.

Composition of the qualifying tournaments and system of play:

Qualifying Tournament 1 [QT1]

Pos Team

Qualifying Tournament 2 [QT2]

Each participating team will play two games, one semifinal game and one placement game. Semifinals matchups will be:

QT1: Italy – Israel and Serbia – Switzerland
QT2: Great Britain – Russia and Czechia – Netherlands


Third place games will be played between teams that lose the semifinals games and first place games will be played between the winners of the semifinals’ games in each qualifying tournament.

The winners of each qualifying tournament will advance to the European Championship 2017 qualifying round to play Sweden and Denmark for the two spots in the European Championship 2018 final tournament.

Italy and Great Britain as best ranked teams have the provisional hosting rights to organize the 2016 qualifying tournaments. IFAF Europe will award the right to host and organize the qualifying tournaments in December 2015.

Available dates for the organization of qualifying tournaments are last weekend in August and first two weekends in September 2016. Two qualifying tournaments’ playing dates will not overlap.